The 2017 Socle du Monde Biennale Announces Participating Artists

The entire biennial is conceived as an homage to Piero Manzoni.

Tomás Saraceno, Aerocene Explorer (2016). Courtesy Studio Tomás Saraceno.

The list of artists participating in the seventh edition of Denmark’s Socle du Monde Biennale—slated to open on April 21—is in, and it’s a mixed bag.

Described by the biennial as a group of “artist icons and the rising stars of tomorrow,” the list includes big-hitters like Yayoi Kusama, Rikrit Tiravanija, and Piero Manzoni alongside emerging names like Anders Bonnesen or Hannah Heilmann.

Titled “To challenge the Earth, the Moon, the Sun & the Stars,” the exhibition is conceived, as in past years, as an homage to Manzoni, and to all artists “who accepted the challenge of turning our world upside down,” reads the press release.

Headed by Mattijs Visser, founding director of ZERO foundation, the curatorial team includes Olivier Varenne, Jean-Hubert Martin, Daniel Birnbaum, and Maria Finders. Each of the five curators have been allotted a “chapter,” based on a work by Manzoni.

“The fact that Manzoni, with his epoch-making residency in Herning, produced art that made world history, obviously begs a gathering up of the past and continuously challenging the future, specifically here in Herning”, says Holger Reenberg, Director at Herning Museum of Contemporary Art (HEART), which is hosting the Biennale.

The full list of participating artists is as follows:

Agostino Bonalumi

Ana Prvacki

Anders Bonnesen

Antony Gormley


Art Barter

Asger Jorn

Belu Simion-Fainaru

Cameron Robbins

Carl-Henning Pedersen

Celeste Boursier-Mougenot

Charles Fréger

Chiharu Shiota

Christian Megert

Conrad Shawcross


Enrico Castellani

Ernest Mancoba

Eva Steen Christensen

Francois Morellet

Gerhard von Graevenitz

Gianni Colombo


Günther Uecker

Hannah Heilmann

Hans Haacke

Hans Salentin

Heinz Mack

Henk Peeters

Herman Bartels

Herman De Vries

Hermann Goepfert

Hesselholdt & Mejlvang

Ilja & Emilia Kabakov

Jan J. Schoonhoven

Jef Verheyen

Keisuke Matsuura


Koen Vanmechelen

Lindsay Seers

Lucio Fontana

Mahsa Karimizadeh

Mischa Kuball

Nanda Vigo

Oliver Beer

Oskar Holweck

Otto Piene

Paul Gadegaard

Paul van Hoeydonck

Piero Manzoni

Rirkrit Tiravanija

Romuald Hazoume

Sadamaso Motonaga

Shen Yuan

Spencer Tunick

Sven Dalsgaard

Tomás Saraceno

Walter Leblanc

Wim Delvoye

Yayoi Kusama

Yves Klein

Zoro Feigl

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.
Article topics