Here Are the Finalists for Berlin’s Prestigious Preis der Nationalgalerie

See who's in the running for this year's award.

Shortlist for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017. From left: Iman Issa, Agnieszka Polska, Sol Calero, and Jumana Manna.

The finalists for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 have been announced at a ceremony in Berlin tonight as Sol Calero, Iman Issa, Jumana Manna, and Agnieszka Polska.

A joint exhibition of works by the four women artists will be shown from September 29, 2017 to January 14, 2018 at Berlin’s Hamburger Bahnhof museum.

The prize, which is awarded every two years, is open only to artists living and working in the German capital who are under 40 when nominated, but recipients can be born anywhere in the world.

The nominees for this prestigious prize follow in impressive footsteps with previous winners including Omer Fast in 2009; Cyprien Gaillard in 2011; and Mariana Castillo Deball in 2013, to name a few.

The most recent prize, awarded in 2015, went to Anne Imhof, who will go on to represent Germany at the 57th Venice Biennale this May.

The prize, which comes with a major solo exhibition in Berlin, is awarded by a two-jury process. The first jury names the four finalists and this year is made up of performer Meret Becker; writer, curator, and researcher Natasha Ginwala; head of Berlin based ifa-galerie Alya Sebti; actor Alexander Beyer; and Alice Motard, who is chief curator at CAPC musée d’art contemporain in Bordeaux.

The second jury, which selects the winner, will be announced at a ceremony ahead of the Venice Biennale.

And finally, the winner will be announced on October 20, 2017, following the joint exhibition of the four finalists and based on the work presented there.

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.
Article topics