Artist List Revealed for MoMA PS1’s Greater New York 2015

The much-anticipated artist roster includes over 120 artists and collectives.

Photo: Courtesy MoMA PS1.
MoMA PS1.Photo: Courtesy MoMA PS1.

Photo: Courtesy MoMA PS1.

The list of participants in MoMA PS1’s much-anticipated Greater New York 2015 has been announced, and it includes over 150 artists and collectives. The show opens October 11.

It’s the fourth iteration of a show that’s taken place every five years since 2000. It has always been organized by a committee of in-house curators, but this time around, MoMA has drafted a major figure from outside the museum: University of Rochester art historian Douglas Crimp, curator of the seminal “Pictures” exhibition at Artists Space in 1977.

Crimp is organizing the show in concert with Peter Eleey, MoMA PS1’s curator and associate director of exhibitions and programs; Thomas J. Lax, associate curator of media and performance art at MoMA; and Mia Locks, MoMA PS1 assistant curator.

Jimmy DeSana: Suburban. Photo: Courtesy and copyright the Jimmy DeSana Estate/Salon 94.

Jimmy DeSana, from his book, Suburban.
Photo: Courtesy of the Jimmy DeSana Estate and Salon 94.

While Greater New York has previously generally focused on emerging talents, the 2015 edition takes a broader view, with late and historical artists such as Richard Artschwager, Scott Burton, Jimmy DeSana, and Gordon Matta-Clark. There are also octogenarians Mary Beth Edelson and Peter Saul, and septuagenarians like Howardena Pindell. Another 1930s baby included is Red Grooms, showing that the curators are not afraid to go for some very unstylish figures in contemporary art.

However, there is no shortage of up-and-comers. The list also features youngsters like Sara Cwynar, Elizabeth Jaeger, Jamian Juliano-Villani, Ajay Kurian, and Cameron Rowland, all born after 1985.

Jamian Juliano-Villani, Messy View, 2013, from the SculptureCenter's "puddle, pothole, porthole"

Jamian Juliano-Villani, Messy View (2013).
Image: Courtesy of SculptureCenter.

Artist collectives and other organizations, both historical and of recent vintage, occupy several spots on the list. There’s Third World Newsreel, an alternative media arts organization formed in 1967 and focusing on “independent film and video by and about people of color and social justice issues,” according to its website. Just four years old is Naturally Occuring Cultural Districts – New York, a coalition of artists, activists, non-profits and others advocating culture in Gotham’s various neighborhoods.

These lists are typically scoured for gender and racial balance (and bias) as soon as they’re released. While a quick scan of the roster shows that women are strongly represented, the list does skew pretty white, with notable exceptions like Jeffrey Gibson, Christine Sun Kim, Glenn Ligon, and Howardena Pindell.

UPDATE: The museum has announced free admission for a year for all New Yorkers. Read more here.

Here’s the full artist list, along with the roster of performances and a film program:


John Ahearn (b. 1951)

Sam Anderson (b. 1982)

Richard Artschwager (1923-2013)

Charles Atlas (b. 1949)

Lutz Bacher (b. 1952)

Fia Backström (b. 1970)

Alvin Baltrop (1948-2004)

Rina Banerjee (b. 1963)

Kevin Beasley (b. 1985)

Gina Beavers (b. 1974)

Michael Bell-Smith (b. 1978)

Sadie Benning (b. 1973)

Huma Bhabha (b. 1962)

Robert Bordo (b. 1949)

Liene Bosquê (b. 1980)

Amy Brener (b. 1982)

Ben Thorp Brown (b. 1983)

Scott Burton (1939-1989)

Susan Cianciolo (b. 1969)

Roy Colmer (1935-2014)

Sara Cwynar (b. 1985)

Mira Dancy (b. 1979)

Jimmy DeSana (1950-1990)

Eckhaus Latta (founded 2011)

Mary Beth Edelson (b. 1933)

Gregory Edwards (b. 1981)

Joy Episalla (b. 1960)

Loretta Fahrenholz (b. 1981)

fierce pussy (founded 1991)

John Finneran (b. 1979)

Henry Flynt (b. 1940)

Jeffrey Gibson (b. 1972)

Ignacio González-Lang (b. 1975)

Red Grooms (b. 1937)

David Hammons (b. 1943)

Katherine Hubbard (b. 1981)

Elizabeth Jaeger (b. 1988)

Jamian Juliano-Villani (b. 1987)

Angie Keefer (b. 1977)

Devin Kenny (b. 1987)

Christine Sun Kim (b. 1980)

KIOSK (founded 2005)

Ajay Kurian (b. 1984)

Robert Kushner (b. 1949)

Louise Lawler (b. 1947)

Deana Lawson (b. 1979)

Barry Le Va (b. 1941)

Simone Leigh (b. 1968)

Glenn Ligon (b. 1960)

Eric Mack (b. 1987)

Tony Matelli (b. 1971)

Gordon Matta-Clark (1943-1978)

Lionel Maunz (b. 1976)

Park McArthur (b. 1984)

Adam McEwen (b. 1965)

Wardell Milan (b. 1978)

Yoshiaki Mochizuki (b. 1961)

Donald Moffett (b. 1955)

James Nares (b. 1953)

Naturally Occurring Cultural Districts – New York (founded 2011)

Raul de Nieves (b. 1983)

Sondra Perry (b. 1986)

Howardena Pindell (b. 1943)

Seth Price (b. 1973)

Nick Relph (b. 1979)

Joyce Robins (b. 1944)

Ugo Rondinone (b. 1964)

Cameron Rowland (b. 1988)

Peter Saul (b. 1934)

Collier Schorr (b. 1963)

Nancy Shaver (b. 1946)

Judith Shea (b. 1948)

Gedi Sibony (b. 1973)

Hayley Silverman (b. 1986)

Lorna Simpson (b. 1960)

Rosalind Fox Solomon (b. 1930)

Kiki Smith (b. 1954)

Greg Parma Smith (b. 1983)

Slow and Steady Wins the Race (founded 2001)

Nelson Sullivan (1948-1989)

Sergei Tcherepnin (b. 1981)

Stewart Uoo (b. 1985)

Stefanie Victor (b. 1982)

William Villalongo (b. 1975)

Sue Williams (b. 1954)

Lebbeus Woods (1940-2012)

Carrie Yamaoka (b. 1957)


Robert Ashley (1930-2014)

Fia Backström

Morgan Bassichis (b. 1983)

Gelsey Bell (b. 1982)

Harry Burke (b. 1990)

Todd Colby (b. 1962)

Andrew Durbin (b. 1989)

Ben Fama (b. 1982)

John Giorno (b. 1936)

Jonah Groeneboer (b. 1978)

David Grubbs (b. 1967)

Fanny Howe (b. 1940)

Katherine Hubbard

Paolo Javier (b. 1974)

Devin Kenny

Eli Keszler (b. 1983)

M. Lamar (b. 1984)

Sophia Le Fraga (b. 1990)

Okkyung Lee (b. 1975)

Tan Lin (b. 1957)

Ieva Misevičiūtė (b. 1982)*

Rashaun Mitchell (b. 1978) and Silas Riener (b. 1983)

Morgan Parker (b. 1987)

Rebecca Patek (b. 1980)

Pharmakon (b. 1990)

Will Rawls (b. 1978)

Bunny Rogers (b. 1990)

Jen Rosenblit (b. 1983)

Keith Fullerton Whitman (b. 1973)

Nathan Donavon Wooley (b. 1974)

Geo Wyeth (b. 1984)

C. Spencer Yeh (b. 1975)

Film program:

Charlie Ahearn (b. 1951)

Chantal Akerman (b. 1950)

Charles Atlas

Dara Birnbaum (b. 1946)

Mel Bochner (b. 1940) and Robert Moskowitz (1935-2001)

Lizzie Borden (b. 1958)

Gregg Bordowitz (b. 1964)

Rudy Burckhardt (1914-1999)

Abigail Child (b. 1948)

Jaime Davidovich (b. 1936)

Diego Echeverría (b. 1948)

Terry Fox (1958-1981)

Su Friedrich (b. 1954)

William Greaves (1926-2014)

Peter Hutton (b. 1944)

Ken Jacobs (b. 1933)

Joan Jonas (b. 1936)

Manfred Kirchheimer (b. 1931)

Zoe Leonard (b. 1961) and Nancy Brooks Brody (b. 1962)

Gordon Matta-Clark

Marie Menken (1909-1970)

Véréna Paravel (b. 1971) and J.P. Sniadecki (b. 1979)

James Nares

Yvonne Rainer (b. 1934)

Charles Simonds (b. 1970)

Jack Smith (1932-1989)

Third World Newsreel (founded 1967)


Greater New York” will be on view at MoMA PS1 from October 11, 2015–March 07, 2016.

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.
Article topics