Shortlist Announced for the Prestigious Artes Mundi 7 Award

Hito Steyerl, film still from How Not to Be Seen: A Fucking Didactic .Mov File (2013)
Photo: Courtesy the artists and Andrew Kreps Gallery, New York

Artes Mundi, the prestigious biennial arts award, has announced the seven artists shortlisted for its seventh edition, and they are: John Akomfrah (UK), Neïl Beloufa (France/Algeria), Amy Franceschini/Futurefarmers (US/ Belgium), Lamia Joreige (Lebanon), Nástio Mosquito (Angola), Hito Steyerl (Germany/Japan), and Bedwyr Williams (UK/Wales).

John Akomfrah Photo: via

John Akomfrah
Photo: via

“This group of 7 artists bring unique perspectives with work that comments on what it means to be human in contemporary society,” Karen MacKinnon, Artes Mundi’s director and curator, said in a statement. “Whether their work is introspective and deeply personal, or whether it comments and engages with broader social and cultural issues through their unique practices, each artist demonstrates the importance and usefulness of art and culture in our everyday lives as it challenges our preconceptions and gives us new ways of engaging with the world around us. ”

Amy Franceschini<br /> Photo: Amy Franceschini

Amy Franceschini
Photo: Amy Franceschini

Since its inception in 2002, the Cardiff-based award—which, with its £40,000 cash prize, is the largest for the arts in the UK (Turner Prize winners take home £25,000)—has become a staple in the international arts calendar, thanks to its global reach and broad remit, as it doesn’t follow any medium or age criteria. Its sole concern is to support artists “whose work engages with social reality and lived experience.”

Nástio Mosquito, film still 3 Continents (2010)<br>Photo: Courtesy the artist

Nástio Mosquito, film still from 3 Continents (2010)
Photo: Courtesy the artist

This year’s shortlist of seven was selected from over 700 nominations, spanning 90 countries, and features some of the most celebrated contemporary artists on the international scene.

Neil Beloufa  <br>Photo: Jean Picon via

Neil Beloufa
Photo: Jean Picon via

The seven finalists will take part in a major exhibition of new and existing works, which will run from October 21, 2016 to February 26, 2017, at two venues in Cardiff: the National Museum and Chapter.

Lamia Joreige<br>Photo: Courtesy the artist

Lamia Joreige
Photo: Courtesy the artist

The winner of Artes Mundi 7 will be announced on January 25, 2017.

The winner of the previous edition, Theaster Gates, surprised the international media when he generously decided to split the cash award with his fellow eight nominees, which included Sanja Iveković, Omer Fast, Sharon Lockhart, Renzo Martens, Renata Lucas, Carlos Bunga, Karen Mirza & Brad Butler, and Ragnar Kjartansson.

Bedwyr Williams<br>Photo: Courtesy the artist

Bedwyr Williams
Photo: Courtesy the artist

Related stories:

Theaster Gates Splits Artes Mundi Prize Winnings with Nominees

Hito Steyerl Awarded 2015 EYE Prize

Is the Turner Prize Just a Publicity Machine? JJ Charlesworth Takes on the Tate

Turner Prize: Confused Critics Demand Relevance!

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.
Article topics