Simon’s World . . . On Instagram

Simon de Pury seeks art in Azerbaijan, Warsaw, and Paris.

15
View Slideshow
0/0
Matthew Chambers (detail) #matthewchambers #prazdelavallade
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
#stmoritz #badruttpalace
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Marina Appolonio #marinaappolonio #zero #stefanhildebrandt
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Zaha Hadid #zahahadid #heydaraliyevcenter #baku
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Przemyslaw Matecki #przemyslawmatecki #zacheta #warsaw
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Elizabeth Peyton #elizabethpeyton #christies
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Lucio Fontana #luciofontana #sothebys
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Allen Jones #allenjones #phillips
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Marlene Dumas (detail) #marlenedumas #tate @iamnaomicampbell @tategallery
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Marlene Dumas (detail) #marlenedumas #tate @tategallery
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
#royalarcade #london
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Piotr Uklanski (detail) #piotruklanski #massimodecarlo #artgeneve
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Eric Baudart #ericbaudart #valentin
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury
Joan Miro (detail) #joanmiro #christies
Photo: Instagram/@simondepury

Take a peek into the life of auctioneer, collector, and artnet News columnist Simon de Pury. Via his Instagram, he will be sharing a bit of glamour and a bit of excitement with us—whether he’s trotting the globe or on the scene closer to home.

The past month found Simon sending art world shout-outs from across the continent. While in Paris, he shared a close-up of a Matthew Chambers piece composed of strips of failed paintings. Soon after, a trip to St. Moritz, Switzerland yielded a postcard-ready shot of snowy peaks; and while in the area, Simon stopped by the Stefan Hildebrandt Gallery and shared a pictured of Italian optical artist Marina Apollonio’s dizzying work.

Most recently, while visiting Azerbaijan, Simon captured the curves of Baku’s Heydar Aliyev Center, and later, while in Warsaw, shared a shot of Przemyslaw Matecki’s painting.

But between all the jet-setting, Simon also shared an image of a calmer moment, sunset streaking the skyline of yet another city.

Simon shared images of some of the art that was up for auction last month in back-to-back Sotheby’s, Phillips, and Christie’s events, including Elizabeth Peyton’s painting of Prince William and Lucio Fontana’s slashed canvas.

And of course, the month wouldn’t be complete without a peek into the London scene. Besides his recent stay inside of a sculpture-cum-hotel room (see Simon de Pury Spends Night Inside Antony Gormley Sculpture), Simon found time to visit the Royal Arcade and share a picture of its glass ceiling. And then onward to the Tate gallery, where Simon captured Marlene Dumas’s creepily transfixing paintings, adding a cheeky nod to supermodel Naomi Campbell, who shares a striking resemblance with the subject of one of Dumas’s paintings.

See also: Simon de Pury on Why TEFAF Really Matters and the Future of the Art World.


Follow artnet News on Facebook:


Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.

Share

Article topics