Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017 Announces List of Participating Artists

Nicole Eisenman, Pierre Huyghe, Hito Steyerl, and 32 other artists and groups will create new work for the public art festival this summer.

Kasper König. Photo courtesy Skulptur Projekte Münster.

Skulptur Projekte Münster, the decennial festival founded by Klaus Bussmann and Kasper König in 1977, has announced the list of artists for its 2017 edition. 35 artists, artist duos, and collectives, including Cosima von Bonin, Nicole Eisenman, Pierre Huyghe, and Hito Steyerl, will participate in the festival, which takes place from June 10 to October 1, 2017.

The Skulptur Projekte (sculpture projects) provide a platform for commissioned artists to create works of temporary public art. This year, the artists were invited by artistic director König, freelance curator Britta Peters, and curator at the LWL Museum für Kunst und Kultur in Münster, Marianne Wagner.

“Its realization at generous ten-year intervals makes the exhibition not only a special event, but also a ‘long-term study’ between the poles of art and the public sphere,” reads a statement from the Skulptur Projekte.

For the first time in its 40-year history, the exhibition will expand to the nearby city of Marl, in a two-city cooperation that will center on the exchange of sculptures, and short residencies of participating artists in each city.

The artists for 2017 come from 19 different countries. Each will be given the chance to realize a new proposal, from a traditional work of sculpture to something more performative.

See the full list of artists below.

Ei Arakawa

Aram Bartholl

Nairy Baghramian

Cosima von Bonin

Andreas Bunte

Gerard Byrne


Michael Dean

Jeremy Deller

Nicole Eisenman

Ayşe Erkmen

Lara Favaretto

Hreinn Friðfinnsson

Monika Gintersdorfer / Kurt Klaßen

Pierre Huyghe

John Knight

Xavier Le Roy with Scarlet Yu

Justin Matherly


Christian Odzuck

Emeka Ogboh

Peles Empire

Alexandra Pirici

Mika Rottenberg

Gregor Schneider

Thomas Schütte

Nora Schultz

Michael Smith

Hito Steyerl

Koki Tanaka

Oscar Tuazon

Joëlle Tuerlinckx

Cerith Wyn Evans

Hervé Youmbi

Bárbara Wagner / Benjamin de Búrca

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.
Article topics