Art Berlin Contemporary Reduces Exhibitor Numbers for Its 2016 Edition

The non-conformist fair has some exciting changes in store.

Art Berlin Contemporary 2015. Photo: artnet.

Returning for its ninth edition from September 15-18, Berlin’s homegrown art fair abc (Art Berlin Contemporary) has announced a considerably reduced list of participants for this year’s edition, scaling down from about 100 exhibitors from 17 countries in 2015, to only 60.

While the majority of the participating dealers are Berlin based, there are several returning exhibitors from further afield: Ellis King will make the trip from Dublin, Ireland; Vilma Gold is coming from London, UK; meanwhile ATHR gallery is traveling to Berlin all the way from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Taking place at the traditional venue of Station Berlin—a former postal depot—the fair’s artist-friendly format focuses on solo presentations.

Announcing another major change for this year’s edition, abc has launched a new partnership with the arts incubator OUTSET Germany, to inaugurate an acquisition fund. A four-member panel of experts will decide on the purchase of an exceptional work from the fair for donation to a German museum. The first recipient of this charitable fund, which aims to strengthen institutional relations, will be the Neue Nationalgalerie, Berlin.

Art Berlin Contemporary 2015. Photo: artnet.

Art Berlin Contemporary 2015. Photo: artnet.

The fair has always taken an innovative approach to its design to deliberately differentiate itself from the traditional art fair format, and this year is no different. The organizers have announced some exciting changes including a new “U-shaped” booth design developed by the architect Johanna Meyer-Grohbrügge which promises to deliver a “cabinet like atmosphere,” and promote a more direct engagement with the works on display.

Some highlights to look forward to include a dual presentation of Monika Sosnowska and Pieter Schoolwerth at Capitan Petzel, Berlin; Laure Prouvost at carlier gebauer, Berlin, Secundino Hernández at Galerie Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt; Erwin Wurm at König Galerie, Berlin; and Marcel Dzama at Sies + Höke, Cologne.

See the complete list of participants below. Artists on show are represented in bold:

Athr: Aya Haidar
Galerie Guido W. Baudach, Vilma Gold: Markus Selg
Galerie Guido W. Baudach: Tamina Amadyar
BQ: Raphaela Vogel
Buchmann Galerie: Martin Disler
Galerie Luis Campaña: Dirk Skrebe
Capitain Petzel: Monika Sosnowska, Pieter Schoolwerth
carlier gebauer: Laure Prouvost
Charim Galerie: Lisl Ponger
Mehdi Chouakri: Saâdane Afif
Delmes & Zander: André Robillard
Dittrich & Schlechtriem: Simon Mullan
Galerie Eigen+Art: Despina Stokou
Ellis King: Ryan Estep
Konrad Fischer Galerie: Juergen Staack
Galerie Bärbel Grässlin: Secundino Hernández
Grimmuseum: Alona Rodeh
Galerie Karin Guenther, Galerie Barbara Weiss: Berta Fischer
Galerie Michael Haas: Dirk Lange
Häusler Contemporary: Roman Signer
Natalia Hug: Alwin Lay
Galería Isla Flotante: Mariela Scafati
Klemm’s: Sven Johne
Helga Maria Klosterfelde Edition: William N. Copley and Dimitri Petrov
KM: Simone Gilges
Galerie koal: Yitzhak Golombek
Christine König Galerie: Micha Payer + Martin Gabriel
König Galerie: Erwin Wurm
Kraupa-Tuskany Zeidler: GCC
Krobath: Sofie Thorsen
Galerie Gebr. Lehmann: Eberhard Havekost
alexander levy: Fabian Knecht
Linn Lühn: Florian Baudrexel
Galerie Hans Mayer: Kenny Scharf
Galerie Max Mayer: Henning Fehr und Philipp Rühr
Galería Metropolitana: Joaquín Luzoro
Meyer Riegger: Robert Janitz
Meyer Riegger, The Modern Institute: Scott Myles
Galerie nächst St. Stephan Rosemarie Schwarzwälder: Daniel Knorr
Galerie Tobias Naehring: Eva GrubingerGalerie Neu: Sean Snyder
neugerriemschneider: Noa Eshkol
Galerie Georg Nothelfer: Madeleine Dietz
Piktogram: Tomasz Mróz
Profile Gallery: Jarosław Kozłowski
PSM: Ariel Reichman
Dawid Radziszewski: Marcin Zarzeka
Philipp von Rosen Galerie: Jose Dávila
Aurel Scheibler: Michael Wutz
Esther Schipper: Christopher Roth
Galerie Thomas Schulte: Julian Irlinger
Gabriele Senn Galerie: Marko Lulić
Sies + Höke: Marcel Dzama
Société: Sean Raspet, Timur Sí-Qin
Sperling: Andrew Gilbert
Sprüth Magers: Andreas Schulze
galeria stereo: Roman Stańczak
Galerie Fons Welters: David Jablonowski
Wentrup: Miriam Böhm
Barbara Wien: Ian Kiaer
Zak Branicka: Joanna Rajkowska

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.
Article topics