Manifesta Reveals the Artist List for Its 2022 Edition in Kosovo—and Nearly Half Are Local

The nomadic biennial opens on July 22.

The National Library of Kosovo in Pristina. Courtesy of Manifesta. Photo: Ferdi Limani.

Manifesta, the nomadic, pan-European biennial, has announced the artist list for its 14th edition, which will take place in Pristina, Kosovo, beginning on July 22. 

The 100-day event includes an ambitious program of contemporary art, performances, events and workshops, featuring 102 artists, collectives, and other participants, nearly half of whom are from Kosovo. 

The proportion of Kosovar representation is an anomaly for one of Europe’s longest-running and most important biennials, as artists from the country are rarely represented on the global stage. 

Among the artists are Jakup Ferri, whose exhibition “The Monumentality of the Everyday” is currently on view in the Kosovo pavilion at the Venice Biennale; Petrit Halilaj, who developed a monumental installation during Kosovo’s Autostrada Biennial of a majestic large-scale flower under the cupola of the National Library; and Alban Muja, who represented Kosovo during the 2019 Venice Biennale.

A number of newcomers to the international circuit are also represented, including the Astronomy Club of Kosova, Ilir Dalipi, Driton Hajredini, and the Haveit Collective, which is comprised of two pairs of sisters whose work often tackles representations of gender in public spaces. 

Founded in 1994, Manifesta takes place in a different European city every two years and works with municipalities to create the exhibitions of contemporary art. 

This year’s edition, led by Catherine Nicholes, will be held under the concept: it matters what worlds world worlds: how to tell stories otherwise. According to Nichols, “when I visited Prishtina, the people I encountered, the conversations I had, the work I witnessed gave me a palpable sense of the transformative power that lies in stories and in the act, in the practice of storytelling itself. Here you can really feel that it’s storytelling that brings into being the public realm: the space between you and me.”

See the full artist list below:

  • Petrit Abazi (RKS), Piers Greville (AU) and Stanislava Pinchuk (UA)*
  • Larry Achiampong (UK/GH)
  • Astronomy Club of Kosova (RKS)
  • Bora Baboci* (AL)
  • Céline Baumann (FR)
  • Elona Beqiraj (DE)
  • Valentina Bonizzi (IT)
  • Anna Bromley* (DE)
  • Luz Broto* (ES)
  • Lee Bul (KR)
  • Lúa Coderch (PE)
  • Daniel Gustav Cramer & Haris Epaminonda (DE/CY)
  • llir Dalipi* (RKS)
  • Yael Davids* in collaboration with André van Bergen
  • Cevdet Erek* (TR)
  • ETEA* (RKS)
  • Jakup Ferri (RKS)
  • Foundation 17* (RKS)
  • Lek M. Gieloshi* (AL)
  • Núria Güell (ES)
  • Driton Hajredini* (RKS)
  • Artan Hairullahu (RKS)
  • Laureta Hajrullahu (RKS)
  • Petrit Halilaj* (RKS)
  • Flaka Haliti* (RKS)
  • Lawrence Abu Hamdan (LB)
  • Haveit Collective (RKS)
  • Roni Horn (US)
  • Fahrie Hoti and the Women of Krushe e Madhe (RKS)
  • Majlinda Hoxha* (RKS)
  • ICA-Sofia (BG)
  • Astrit Ismaili* (RKS)
  • Fitore Isufi Shukriu-Koja (RKS)
  • Hristina Ivanoska (MK)
  • Emily Jacir (PS)
  • Jelena Juresa (RS/BE)
  • Genc Kadriu* (RKS)
  • Alevtina Kakhidze* (UA)
  • Seila Kameric (BA)
  • Antoneta Kastrati and Casey Cooper Johnson (RKS/US)
  • Doruntina Kastrati (RKS)
  • Kino ARMATA (RKS)
  • Genti Korini* (AL)
  • Argjirè Krasniqi (RKS)
  • Edona Kryeziu* (RKS)
  • Katalin Ladik (HU)
  • Luljeta Lleshanaku (AL)
  • Nimon Lokai (RKS)
  • Jumana Manna (PS/DE)
  • Brilant Milazimi (RKS)
  • Hana Miletic (HR)
  • Ivan Moudov (BG)
  • Alketa Xhafa Mripa (RKS)
  • Alban Muja* (RKS)
  • Sami Mustafa* (RKS/FR)
  • Silvi Naci (AL)
  • Natasha Nedelkova (MK)


  • New Grand (Arbor Karaliti. Lumturie Krasniqi, Mimoza Sahiti. Ermir Zhinipotoku. Valdrin Thagi. Blerta Hashani) (RKS)
  • Tuan Andrew Nguyen (VN)
  • Vigan Nimani (RKS)
  • Thao Nguyen Phan (VN)
  • Christian Nyampeta* (NL)
  • Off Season Collective (RKS, AL, RO, DE)
  • Adrian Paci (AL/IT)
  • Marta Popivoda (RS)
  • Susan Philipsz (UK) and Radio International Collective (RKS, DE, KR, IT, RU, UA)
  • Marubi National Museum of Photography (AL)
  • PykèPresje* (RKS)
  • Lala Rasció (BA)
  • raumlaborberlin* (DE)
  • re.act.feminism (DE)
  • Alicja Rogalska* (PL/UK)
  • RomaMoMa* (DE/RS) with Farija Mehmeti (Roma/RKS)
  • Ugo Rondinone* (CH)
  • Sahej Rahal* (IN)
  • Nusret Salihamixhigi (RKS)
  • Secondary Archive* (AL, BY, CZ, HU, PL, RS, SK, UA, RKS)
  • Abi Shehu (AL)
  • Sekhmet Institute* (RKS)
  • Selma Selman (BA)
  • Driton Selmani (RKS)
  • Dineo Seshee Bopape (ZA)
  • Chiharu Shiota* (JP)
  • Igor Simic (RS/US)
  • Uvra Sodoma (BR)*
  • Speculative Tourism* (IL)
  • Beth Stephens and Annie Sprinkle (US)
  • Mette Sterre (NL)
  • StoryLab* (RKS)
  • tamtam* (AT/DE)
  • the name comes last collective* (RKS)
  • Miryana Todorova (BG)
  • Vangjush Vellahu (AL)
  • Alije Vokshi (RKS)
  • Werker Collective* (NL)
  • Sislej Xhafa* (RKS)
  • YIl Xhaferi* (RKS)
  • Miki Yui (JP)
  • Driant Zeneli* (AL)
  • Hana Zega (RKS)
  • Lulzim Zegiri* (RKS)
  • Dardan Zhegrova

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.