Shortlist for Jarman Award Announced

A still from the short film EDIT, 2014, a collaboration between Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard (shortlisted) and the musician Joe McAlinden. Photo: courtesy the artists


The Jarman Award, a contemporary moving image competition for UK-based artists, has announced this year’s shortlist. The prize includes a film commission for the short-form arts strand Random Acts, which airs on Channel 4, and a £10,000 award. Three additional artists will also be chosen to commission £4,000 works for Random Acts.

Chief executive of Film London and the British Film Commission, Adrian Wootton, commented on the announcement: “The Jarman Award shortlist is yet again showcasing some of the UK’s most interesting artists working with the moving image. We very much look forward to presenting their work through our national tour, which this year is bigger than ever.”

The 10 shortlisted artists are as follows:

John Akomfrah
Sebastian Buerkner
Laura Buckley
Marvin Gaye Chetwynd
Steven Claydon
Redmond Entwistle
Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard
Ursula Mayer
Rachel Reupke
Stephen Sutcliffe

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.


Article topics
Subscribe or log in to read the rest of this content.

You are currently logged into this Artnet News Pro account on another device. Please log off from any other devices, and then reload this page continue. To find out if you are eligible for an Artnet News Pro group subscription, please contact [email protected]. Standard subscriptions can be purchased on the subscription page.

Log In