Adam Sheffer Named President of Art Dealers Association of America

ADAA also appointed nine new board members.

Adam Sheffer with work by Chantal Joffe at Cheim & Read. Photo: Patrick McMullan.

Adam Sheffer, a partner at Cheim & Read, has succeeded Dorsey Waxter as the president of the Art Dealers Association of America (ADAA), the organization announced today.

Sheffer has over 25 years of experience in the art world, and has both served on the ADAA Board of Directors and chaired the organization’s acclaimed annual art show at the Park Avenue Armory since 2009. He has been the vice president of the organization since 2013.

Prior to his role as partner and sales director at Cheim & Read, Sheffer served as a director at Robert Miller Gallery, Danese Gallery, and Mary Boone Gallery, where, in 1994, he began his career as an assistant to Mary Boone. Sheffer is also an associate producer on Lady Painter, a forthcoming film about the life of Joan Mitchell, and is co-editing the book “Alice Neel: Paintings from the Thirties.”

“The association represents a community of dealers committed to the highest ethical standards and practices within our profession,” Sheffer said in a press release. “Through their nurturing of artistic talent, contributions to scholarship and collection-building, and presentation of dynamic art experiences, our dealers play a critical role in our cultural landscape. I look forward to building on Dorsey Waxter’s accomplishments and working with my talented peers to support our dealers’ vital contributions to the art world.”

Dorsey Waxter. Photo: Matt Car.

Former ADAA president Dorsey Waxter.
Photo: Matt Car.

“It has been an outstanding privilege to serve as ADAA’s President to advance the collective work of dealers and support our critical role in the art world,” said Waxter, who has helmed the ADAA since 2012. “Having worked closely with Adam for well over the past ten years, I have seen firsthand his incredible vision and passion for advancing the work of our members, and I look forward to his leadership over the coming years.”

In addition to Sheffer’s appointment, the ADAA has announced nine new members of the board: Frances Beatty (Richard L. Feigen & Co.), Valerie Carberry (Richard Gray Gallery), Susan Dunne (Pace Gallery), Jeanne Greenberg Rohatyn (Salon 94), Fredericka Hunter (Texas Gallery), Bo Joseph (Allan Stone Projects), Barbara Krakow (Barbara Krakow Gallery), Barbara Mathes (Barbara Mathes Gallery), and Anthony Meier (Anthony Meier Fine Arts). Each will serve a three-year term.

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to get the breaking news, eye-opening interviews, and incisive critical takes that drive the conversation forward.